More details about outcomes and disease severity

List of outcomes:

On the 1st of February 2021, the protocol of the review on pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatments was amended to consider only the following outcomes:

Critical outcomes:
  • Clinical improvement (D28 / D60 or more) defined as a hospital discharge or improvement on the scale used by trialists to evaluate clinical progression and recovery. We will describe the scale and the threshold used to define improvement where appropriate.
  • WHO Clinical Progression Score level 7 or above (i.e., Mechanical ventilation +/- additional organ support (ECMO, vasopressors or dialysis) OR death (D28 / D60 or more)
  • All-cause mortality (D28 / D60 or more)
  • Viral negative conversion (D7)
  • Incidence of any adverse events
  • Incidence of serious adverse events (SAEs)

    Important outcomes:

  • Time to clinical improvement
  • Time to WHO Clinical Progression Score level 7 or above
  • Time to death
  • Time to viral negative conversion


    Disease severity was classified as described below according to the clinical status or clinical management of patients. This classification relies on existing classification and clinical expertise (WHO 2020a, WHO 2020b). We considered the description of eligibility criteria as well as the baseline characteristics of participants and classified the severity as follow: